Players Championship PGA Tour Bryson DeChambeau’s rule is lame

Bryson DeChambeau continues to be the best story in golf right now, with those superb monster drives – as we saw twice on No. 6 at Bay Hill last week – obliterating course design.

And it’s the best, even with critics who disagree. The buzz is good for the game.

So it pains me to see that the PGA Tour has a rule in place that prevents DeChambeau from attempting — and likely succeeding — at something that would be impressive at this week’s Players Championship.

DeChambeau said after winning the Arnold Palmer Invitational that he was considering taking a different approach on the No. 18 at Sawgrass this week – instead of hitting the fairway like any golfer, he would hit it left at above water to part of #9. to give yourself a better angle. WHICH WOULD CUT OUR MIND AND IS AWESOME!

But the kibosh was put on it by the PGA Tour. From golf week:

Rules officials heard about DeChambeau’s latest scheme and nipped any thought of taking a single route at 18 in the bud. Any shot that comes to rest to the left of the white stakes on 18 will be determined to be out of bounds.

“In the interest of the safety of spectators, volunteers and other staff, the Players Championship Rules Committee has installed an internal out of bounds to the left of the lake for play on hole 18,” the Tour said in a statement.

The Tour noted that similar instances of internal out of bounds for safety reasons occurred at The Open Championship (hole 9) in 2017, the 2021 Sony Open in Hawaii (hole 13 and hole 18) and, more recently, at the Arnold Palmer Invitational 2021. (hole 6).

To borrow a much-used phrase about Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson, let Bryson cook.

Did you hear the crowd noise last week when he crushed it at No 6? The buzz on social networks when he does? It’s gold, Jerry, gold.

If there’s a security issue — and I’m certainly not an expert here! It may not be possible! – clear everyone on the #9 fairway when he’s up and let him go. Putting a rule in place to prevent any shots on this attempt is just a bummer.

Anyway, here’s an idea of ​​what a successful shot to the #9 and then the 18th green would have looked like:

Alas.

Michael C. Ford