Which LIV Golf players play at the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth?

Rory McIlroy said he would struggle to digest 18 players from the LIV Golf Invitational Series to compete in the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth.

Prospects have improved for the Northern Irishman as he will only have to face 17 now, as Martin Kaymer didn’t want to play in a tournament where he was clearly not welcome.

Every LIV rebel was told they would not be welcome to play the pro-am on Wednesday, which features a number of celebrities, and advised not to wear LIV clothes.

These are probably the reasons why former world No. 1 Kaymer didn’t want to compete in the showpiece DP World Tour event, but the rest of the rebels held on.

Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter and Sergio Garcia are players with whom McIlroy has fond memories during the Ryder Cup. They have each built partnerships and created iconic moments in European golf history.

Although McIlroy is a strong advocate for the PGA Tour and against the LIV Golf Series, this was one of the first concerns he expressed about the personal relationships he has with defectors.

The PGA Tour has suspended its players who switched to the Saudi-backed series, but the DP World Tour has been more lenient and currently allows them to compete.

The DP World Tour, formerly the European Tour, has nowhere near the financial muscle or the strength of the field that the PGA Tour has, which explains the leniency of CEO Keith Pelley, as well as not being constitutionally able suspend players too.

McIlroy will join Matt Fitzpatrick, Jon Rahm, Shane Lowry, Viktor Hovland and Billy Horschel in what remains an exciting, world-class lineup.

Here is the list of LIV Golf players who are on the entry list for the 2023 BMW PGA Championship:

  • Abraham Ancer
  • Talor Gooch
  • Patrick Roseau
  • Lee Westwood
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Bernd Wiesberger
  • Sam Horsfield
  • Pablo Larrazabal
  • Rochard Bland
  • Graeme McDowell
  • Justin Harding
  • Shaun Norris
  • Branden Grace
  • Ian Poulter
  • Laurie Canter
  • Adrian Otaegui
  • Wade Ormsby

Michael C. Ford