Who is on the Rebel Tour?

The LIV Golf series is gearing up for its third event in BedroomNew Jersey this week with Trump National Golf Club as the host venue – raising the possibility of the former US President himself making an appearance at the tournament.

Branden Grace took victory in the second event thanks to a fantastic final at Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club last month and at this tournament, Paul Casey became the latest defector from the rebel tour, with their upcoming debut in Bedminster – which runs from Friday July 29 to Sunday July 31.

LIV Golf sparked further controversy when they landed the 2016 Open champion Henrik Stenson through the tour, causing the Swede to be immediately stripped of the Ryder Cup captaincy he had been rewarded before next year.

The decision has further deepened the schism between the Saudi-backed breakaway and the PGA and DP World Tours – a battle that looks increasingly likely to end in court.

Here’s everything you need to know about the new golf tour, including the full course for Bedminster:

What is LIV Golf?

Reports of a new breakaway league first emerged in 2019 but gained momentum last year as the Open’s two-time champion Greg Norman became the face of the Saudi-backed LIV Golf Series as general manager.

With the Saudi Public Investment Fund funding the series, there is a clear link to the Saudi government, whose human rights record has been criticized by groups such as Amnesty International.

But what has long been seen as a trading threat to the traditional PGA and DP World Tours and nothing more, has taken shape as the LIV Golf Series, which also includes new competition rules and what the organizers of the tournament qualify as “exciting” again. format.

What are the rules?

LIV Golf Series events will be held over three days and 54 holes, rather than the traditional four-day events with 72 holes. There will also be no cup, so the 48 players who start the week will play all three rounds.

There will also be individual and team competitions within the same event. The individual competition will be won by the player who shoots the lowest score over 54 holes, as usual.

The team competition, however, will consist of 12 teams of four players, with team captains selecting the teams using a “snake draft” before each event. Teams will also have their own unique names and logos.

In terms of scoring, the top two individual scores will count towards the team’s overall total in the first two rounds, with the top three scores being combined in the third and final round. The team with the lowest overall score at the end of the third round will be the winner.

How will the season unfold and where will the next event take place?

Bedminster will be the third of seven “regular” events this year, with the Tag Team Championship forming the final event of the season at Doral in Miami in October.

The Tag Team Championship will see the 12 seeded teams and a four-day knockout tournament will be contested using match-wise scoring to determine the winner, with a championship match taking place on the final day.

An individual champion will also be crowned using the points accumulated over the seven “regular season” events.

When is the Bedminster event?

The 54-hole tournament will begin on Friday, July 29 at Trump National Golf Club in Bedminster, New Jersey, with the winning player and team being determined on Sunday, July 31. New Jersey is five hours behind the UK, so play will start around 7:00 p.m. BST each day.

Who plays?

Biggest names initially included Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Graeme McDowell, Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood, Louis Oosthuizen, Martin Kaymer, Sergio Garcia, Charl Schwartzel and Kevin Na. However, after its first event, LIV Golf added great champions Bryson DeChambeau, Brooks Koepka and Patrick Reed in its ranks, before tempting 2016 Open champion Henrik Stenson past Bedminster – just how the Swede was stripped of the Ryder Cup captaincy.

Full list of players for the Bedminster event

Who is on the ground?

  • Abraham Ancer – Mexico

  • Richard Bland – England

  • Laurie Canter – England

  • Paul Casey – England

  • Eugenio Chacarra – Spain

  • Bryson DeChambeau – United States

  • Hennie Du Plessis – South Africa

  • Sergio Garcia – Spain

  • Talor Gooch – United States

  • Branden Grace – South Africa

  • Justin Harding – South Africa

  • Sam Horsfield – England

  • Charles Howell III – United States

  • Yuki Inamori – Japan

  • Dustin Johnson – United States

  • Matt Jones – Australia

  • Sadom Kaewkanjana – Thailand

  • Martin Kaymer – Germany

  • Phacara Khongwatmai – Thailand

  • Ryosyke Kinoshita – Japan

  • Brooks Koepka – United States

  • Chase Koepka – United States

  • Jason Kokrak – United States

  • Jinichiro Kozuma – Japan

  • Graeme McDowell – Northern Ireland

  • Phil Mickelson – United States

  • Jediah Morgan – Australia

  • Kevin Na – United States

  • Shaun Norris – South Africa

  • Louis Oosthuizen – South Africa

  • Wade Ormsby – Australia

  • Carlos Ortiz – Mexico

  • Pat Perez – United States

  • Turk Pettit – United States

  • James Piot – United States

  • Ian Poulter – England

  • David Puig – Spain

  • Patrick Reed – United States

  • Charl Schwartzel – South Africa

  • Travis Smyth – Australia

  • Henrik Stenson – Sweden

  • Hudson Swafford – United States

  • Hideto Tanihara – Japan

  • Peter Uihlein – United States

  • Scott Vincent (Zimbabwe)

  • Lee Westwood – England

  • Bernd Wiesberger – Austria

  • Matthew Wolff – United States

Is it on TV?

LIV Golf has yet to be picked up by a major UK broadcaster.

However, the action is streamed live for free on LIV Golf’s YouTube channel and Facebook page.

How much is the price?

Each regular season event will have a prize of $25 million – every player on the field receives a cup, with $4 million guaranteed for first place and $120,000 for last place. Of the $25 million, $5 million will be split between the top three teams.

The top three players in the individual championship overall will receive a share of $30 million, with the overall champion receiving $18 million, second place receiving $8 million and third place receiving $4 million.

The End of Season Tag Team Championship features a prize of $50 million, with the winning team splitting $16 million and the team finishing last receiving $1 million. Each player receives a 25% discount.

By comparison, the winner of the PGA Championship, one of golf’s four majors, receives $3 million out of a total prize pool of $15 million.

Michael C. Ford